Pump and Filter Questions

Old 03-15-04, 07:59 AM
Newcomer?

Great forum. I am new to water ponds. I just installed a 100gal pre-formed pond this weekend. What size pump and filter (if needed) do i need. I would also like to add a waterfall. Any other tips you can offer a beginner would be appreciated. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-16-04, 05:21 PM
Hello Nichboy

For most applications, if you can circulate the water about three times per hour, you should be keeping the fish happy (aeration). A bit more or less according to the amount of flow you want over the waterfall or thru the fountain head.

You could check your local nursery or garden centre - water features such as ponds and waterfalls are the 'in' thing wioth landscapers right now, so there should be some very good (and free) resources at these places if you can find a sales associate who specializes in ponds.

They should be able to answer any questions abouot filters, also. There are a number of biological systems as well as mechanical and light purifying systems - each has it's plusses and downfalls and deciding on the most appropriate might be dictated by your wants and needs.

Hope this helps a bit.

Howie

Old 03-16-04, 06:01 PM
Smile Pump Size

Hi NB; As far as I know your filtering needs depend on amount of fish, plants if any, etc,etc. As far as pump size, you should replace your volume at least once every hour in your case 100gph. Also if you decide on a waterfall for every foot of elevation you will need an extra 100gph. So lets say for example you have a 2 ft waterfall you will need at least 300gph pump. Also depends on your hose diameter for your flow rates, etc. Hope this helps.

Old 03-20-04, 02:32 AM
Hi Nichboy,