neophyte

Old 11-27-04, 07:28 AM
freeneasy3
Visiting Guest
neophyte

I'm new at this and have a few questions. I'm a scavenger of sorts, and prefer to use salvaged materials where I can. My first question is, will a used swimming pool liner work as a pond liner? I have access to used carpet and carpet pad and will most likely use that for my underlayment. Being an avid trout fisherman, I'd like to construct a small stream with a few pools and waterfalls that empty into one large basin. Any suggestions anyone has regarding materials they've scavenged or salvaged and used to construct their water garden would be welcomed.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-27-04, 07:38 AM
freeneasy3, Welcome to the DIY Forums.
I am NO expert on this subject but I really don't think a pool liner would work for what you want. It may be fine at first however I don't think the thickness would work. As you know, pool liners give out after a while and for your project I don't think you want to be searching for a leak a year or so down the road. Just a thought but keep checking this post for advice from the DIY experts here. Good luck.

Old 11-27-04, 10:29 AM
freeneasy3
Visiting Guest
I guess what I'm talking about are commercially installed liners for in-the-ground pools (I have a friend who does this). Sometimes he has liner material left that is new and would be the same as one that is warrantied for 20 years.
Would there be a difference in the thickness? I would think a pool liner would get much more wear and be more suscepitble to leaks , therefore more durable. Less affected by sun, too, since most pools are not very well shaded. Just wondering.

Old 11-28-04, 04:11 PM
Group Moderator