Waterfall pump problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-10-19, 05:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Waterfall pump problem

Hello guys,
Hope someone can help me
I have a waterfall as shown above
Recently I relocated the pump to a new location.The water drains into reservoir from the last waterfall chamber
Initially I thought the level would level with the last waterfall chamber
The water level is same in both last chambers when the pump is off however when the pump is switched on the level drops to Position A
If I add water to pump chamber the level doesnít rise but the level of last waterfall chamber rises
because of this the pump only has about 3 inches of water
The inlet total is 4 inches and outlet 3 inches
There is no connection between them but just canít figure it out

Name:  pump.jpg
Views: 30
Size:  22.6 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-10-19 at 09:44 PM. Reason: enlarged/enhanced/labled picture
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-10-19, 09:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,950
Received 265 Votes on 248 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I increased the visibility and labeled the chambers for sake of discussion.

Did you add the entire chamber 4 ?

Chambers 3 and 4 are interconnected. They will always become level as water seeks its own level.
If the pump removes more water from chamber 4 then it gets from chamber 3.... the level in 4 will go down.

The inlet total is 4 inches and outlet 3 inches
There is no connection between them but just can’t figure it out
Not sure what this means.
Inlet and outlet between chamber 3 and chamber 4 ?
They certainly look connected.
 
  #3  
Old 08-11-19, 04:08 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,590
Received 166 Votes on 156 Posts
It sounds like you are somehow restricting the flow into the pump chamber. However the water gets to the pump chamber it isn't big enough.
 
  #4  
Old 09-17-19, 05:01 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not clear why you have isolated the pump in section 4 from section 3. It seems that you want the water level to be the same, why not make them one chamber? This would solve the problem.

If you are doing it to add a defacto filter to protect the pump, you might be better served with some sort of screen or chicken-wire like mesh to protect it.

If you are doing it to hide the pump, perhaps there's a better way to handle that as well. I have faced all of these issues as I worked with my pond, so don't give up. If combining the two chambers doesn't work, I'm sure that you'll figure it out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: