Algae Problem

Old 06-02-04, 11:11 AM
Kongar123456
Visiting Guest
Algae Problem

I have a huge green algae problem this year. It's my first year in this house and the first time I've ever owned a pool. Anyways, all my levels are good - alk, pH, metals, etc. Once those were good, I shocked the pool with 2 lbs of crystalized shock - nothing. Two days later, I put in three more pounds - nothing. Yesterday, I put in four pounds and a bottle of algaecide that the pool store guy said should help. Guess what - still nothing. I think the pool is slimier now than when I started.

Filter has 100% new sand, I've vaccuumed as good as I can guess (can't see more than 6 inches into the water), and my free chlorine levels show 10 on the test strips (the highest it goes). However, the test strip shows "total chlorine" as almost zero.

Can someone explain the difference between free chlorine and total chlorine, and offer some suggestions to get this pool blue again?

I'm thinking the 7 day chlorine tabs suck, and so does the crystal shock. I'm also thinking that the pool store guy isn't giving me enough chemicals for my size pool (18X32 inground).

I'm very seriously considering buying 20 gallons of liquid chlorine and dumping every last drop into the pool tonight. My neighbor puts a full 5 gallons in his little above ground pool - my pool is at least three times the volume. Seems like people generally use more chlorine than published when opening pools, and I'm guessing I'm not using enough...

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Kongar

Sponsored Links
Old 06-03-04, 12:09 PM
whendel
Visiting Guest
Well you definately need to put in more Chlorine if your Total Chlorine Level is at 0.
The liquid Chlorine will give the best results.
The Tabs will be fine once you have initially "shocked" the pool again and have gotten rid of the algae...but they won't do anything for you right now...they just aren't strong enough.