grounding pool

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-04, 07:09 AM
karnk
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question grounding pool

Do you ground the pool or just the filter??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-25-04, 07:18 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Thumbs up

You dont say what you have there . But for sure ground it all. The pump filter sides rebar or what.


ED
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-04, 07:29 AM
karnk
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
sorry, its an above ground 16ft round doughboy pool. Someone told us we don't ground the pool just the filter but someone else said the pool as well. We are unsure of which is right. If you have to ground the whole pool how is it done.

Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-04, 07:40 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
A ground rod in the ground and wire the sides of the metal on the pool to it with #8 WIRE The pump can go to it also. You could check code for where you are to be sure.



ED
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-04, 08:48 AM
karnk
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks so much I really appreciate it! Just one more thing, it is a resin pool....do we wire the bottom metal pieces?
 
  #6  
Old 06-25-04, 08:52 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,389
Wink

Dont know the pool. Id check code for where you are.

ED
 
  #7  
Old 06-25-04, 09:38 AM
dantis
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
yes

I have a Doughboy Resin pool, ground the pool by removing one of the sheet metal screws at the bottom of the upright..the screw holds on the resin cover...It it threaded directly into the metal of the upright...use copper ground lugs and #8 AWG as Ed said

Dan
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'