strange worm-like algae?

Old 08-24-04, 04:11 PM
pooljen
Visiting Guest
strange worm-like algae?

I have a strange new growth in my below ground concrete pool. In the corners, especially in the deep end, there is an algae that is growing rapidly that looks like little worms! It's very strange. My pool water is totally clear, everything balanced, but my water runs very warm (80-92 degrees) all summer. I have a dark bottom pool plus an automatic cover, so the water has no chance here in sunny california to cool during the summer. I shock the water whenever total chlorine gets high, I brush continuously, and I have a kreepy. I've had this pool for 3 years, never had algae EVER before. But this doesn't look like an algae I've seen described before. It's just on the water line on the grout of the tile, long spaghetti looking form that seems to appear overnight.

I'll start adding phos-free, which I've never done before, but I'd like to know what the heck this stuff is!!! Any thoughts? How can I get rid of it?

Thanks so very much,

Jennie

Old 08-25-04, 04:27 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

I shock the water whenever total chlorine gets high,
lost here, why shock it when the chlorine is high??? should be 1.0 to 1.5
Do you use a 4 in 1 test kit for the pool.Find out what the total Alkalilnnty is here first . 80 to 125ppm for a in ground pool then check the chlorine

ED

Old 08-25-04, 06:14 PM
coolball1
Visiting Guest
I shock the water whenever total chlorine gets high
Total CL (Chloromines)being the key words there. Test your alkalinity and also test your calcium hardness. If you don't have a kit to do these tests, take a sample of your water(about 2 Liters worth) to your local pool store and they can test it for you. It sounds like calcium deposits.

Old 08-25-04, 10:15 PM
pooljen
Visiting Guest
calcium deposits?