heating in DIY indoor hot tub

Old 04-01-05, 03:47 PM
jazer80
Visiting Guest
heating in DIY indoor hot tub

i am a total newb and just had a few quick questions. recently came across the concept of (well, actually just thought of it, but knew i'd find people doing it online) homemade hot tubs, and wanted to know a couple things about heating.

this is for an indoor hot tub in california, that will be covered when not in use(to prevent humidity/smell in my home). no matter what i decide on for holding the water, i will have it surrounded by a thick wall on all sides, which will be concrete. this should be very, very insulated, unless i'm missing something. can i get away with a weaker heating unit, and just keep the tub heated constantly, without having crazy energy bills? my thought is that it won't take much to keep it hot since the heat won't escape except for when i'm in it.

Old 04-01-05, 04:07 PM
S
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
the rule of thumb is simple, too make heat, then keep it in, hot springs spa, and demention one spa, are two of the better spa manufacturers out there that completely insulate there spas with polyurethane foam, and use a 3" cover to hold the heat in, most use a 6 kw 220V heater [ 6000 watts ]now , however hot springs used to use a 1.5 kw 120v [ 1500 watts ] heater to keep the water hot 24 / 7 when you consider most hair dryers are 1200 to 1500 watts, your not talking about a lot of energy.

hope this helps

steve

Old 04-01-05, 07:07 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 1,629 Likes on 1,462 Posts
I have a Hot Springs and can say that the little 1'500 watt heater can do the job. My spa is about 300 gallons and it will bring the water temp up about 2 degrees every hour. With all the insulating I have not noticed the spa on my electric bill.