new inground pool install

Old 05-29-05, 01:26 PM
cailou
Visiting Guest
new inground pool install

Hi I have just recieved the steal for my new inground pool. Excavation is scheduled for this wednesday. I have never done this before so If anyone has any tips or secrets or do's and don't do's I would greatly apprecieate hearing them.

By the way its a 18 by 36 true L pool.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-29-05, 08:17 PM
are you going to owner / builder contract your pool ?

by the way hopefully you have professional people steel your pool , don't scrimp on steel a the L shape pool is the weakest design and needs the most structual steel.

steve

Old 05-30-05, 12:59 PM
I agree with stevie3x on this check your steel schedule, lots of lateral cracks in L pools

Old 05-31-05, 06:42 AM
cailou
Visiting Guest
yeah I'm doing it all myself. What do you mean by checking the steel schedule?
Is that the thickness?

Old 05-31-05, 10:30 AM
glad its you instead of me. I had mine installed and eventhough consider myself pretty construction savy would never attempt the project by myself, good luck.

Old 05-31-05, 09:11 PM
hopefully you pulled a permit, the building department will most often guide you through, and give you requirements, for steel, set backs, ele, etc.
depending on the depth , shape, [ L shape in your case ] next to a slope.

what dimension of rebar, how many inches on center, verticle and horizontal what requirements for the bond beam, and special shaped pools including your L shaped pool.

lol steve

Old 06-01-05, 12:15 AM
Engineered plans and a good soil engineer if you are attempting to build you pool yourself. An excavator that specializes in pool digging helps too.

Old 06-02-05, 06:56 PM
cailou
Visiting Guest
well I found an old school pool builder 30yrs and hired him. He wants me to send alot of stuff back because there no good.