Above ground pool problems

Old 06-04-05, 11:49 AM
KCPainter
Visiting Guest
Angry Above ground pool problems

Hello, I just moved into a house last week that has a 14000 gal. above ground pool,. When we first saw the house it was a little before pool season andin the contract we added that we wanted the pool opened for the season , to verify it was functional. The day that we moved in however the pool was open, but there was foam all over the top. We talked to the previous homeowner, which said it never done this before, and she took a sample to the nearest pool store. They gave her some chemicals and she brought them back, they were some shock , stabalizer, antifoam, and maybe one more that escapes me right now. She put them all in there after we backwashed it and cleaned the filter. The antifoam took care of the foam, but the pool is still coudy and lots of surface and perhaps bottom debris. I am a rookie when it comes to pools but i know something isn't right. Is the filter bad, too small how many skimmers on the side of the pool should there be, etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanx
KC

Sponsored Links
Old 06-08-05, 07:47 AM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by KCPainter
the pool is still coudy and lots of surface and perhaps bottom debris. I am a rookie when it comes to pools but i know something isn't right. Is the filter bad, too small how many skimmers on the side of the pool should there be, etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanx
KC
1) Empty the skimmer basket (on the side of the pool) ... and there should only be one.
2) Empty the basket in the pump
3) Skim the surface dirt / debris / leaves from the pool.
4) Vacuum the bottom of the pool (doing the sides never hurts either)
5) Using your chlorine / ph testing kit, test the water and add chlorine or ph+ / ph- as necessary.