Hot Tub Running without Water

Old 09-30-05, 03:24 PM
mklinter
Visiting Guest
Hot Tub Running without Water

I had an electrician do my wiring for my hot tub. When he was done, he powered up the hot tub and left it powered up without water in it for about 5 hours. None of the pumps, blower or jets were on. Was the heater running the entire time? I'm new to the hot tub world but I can't imagine this is a good thing. Do the pumps need to be running in order for the hot tub to be heating? Thanks.

Old 10-02-05, 05:37 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,152 Upvotes on 1,927 Posts
You did not say what spa you have, so it's hard to tell if any damage was done. Most spas have an over-temperature sensor that turns them off if the heater is on but the circulator pump is not running, but this relies on the spa being filled with water. Basically I think it depends on the heater in your spa. Some heaters are not damaged by running dry, but many are.

Old 10-03-05, 07:21 AM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I think you will be fine. I have not seen a tub yet that does not have a flow switch for heater operation. This means no water flow no heat. The only damage you could have had would be if the pump was on with no water.

A hot tub is not like a water heater. It is only heating flowing water and not standing water.

Again I think you will be fine.

As for the electrician leaving the power on. I would not have done that. I am a electrician and I would have left it off and told you where to turn it on once you had it filled.

Old 10-05-05, 11:10 AM
mklinter
Visiting Guest
Pump