Advice on building pools as a career?

Old 07-30-06, 04:09 PM
Advice on building pools as a career?

I was recently invited to work full-time building pools. They only do the 1st phase, which is everything but the tile work etc.. (i think). I've never done this line of work before, so I was wondering if any of you do this line of work for a living and could give me some info. How hard is it to learn? How hard is the work? Do you burnout quick on this type of job, or is it something you could do for decades? Any other helpful information would be great.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 07-30-06, 04:18 PM
Depending on what area you live in (hot all year) it could probably be a decent job. Are you talking inground, above ground or both? Although some companies have motorized equipment, there is still a lot of hand digging. Will you be working year round or seasonal? Does this company have a lot of work all the time? Will you have to travel to keep your job? If so, are you compensated for the expenses? Lots of things to look at. Good luck.

Old 07-30-06, 04:28 PM
heh, I live in Florida lol. I'm pretty sure they do mainly/only in-ground pools. They say they get tons of work, now whether or not they get alot of work in the winter I don't know yet. They asked me to work full-time Mon-Fri, I assume year round. They get most of their work within a 100 mile radius from where we all live and they have company trucks as well. My friend (the owners son) works there and he makes anywhere from $500-$1000+ /week, he said I could be making the same in time. Also metioned it would take about 3-4 months before I got good enough to do it on my own.

thanks

Old 07-30-06, 04:49 PM