Salt water system - HELP!!

Old 08-15-07, 06:51 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Salt water system - HELP!!

I'm a pool newb.

I just got my pool installed about a month ago (salt system). Needless to say, I received no help from my installer. Ive attempted to go to my local pool store and go very little help from them either.

How much salt should I initially be putting in?? It seems that the salt reading is decreasing every other day (one day it will read 2700 and two days later it will read 22-2300). Can it lose that much in two days?? I was told that once i get it to around 2800-3200, it will hold for a few months. It seems like Im pouring salt in more than I expected. The salt reading that shows up on my instrument panel matches the reading I get from the test strips I bought from the pool store.

What other chemicals should I be aware of?? Is there anything other than salt that I need to worry about?? What am I doing wrong??

Im getting really frustrated. Please help. Thank you.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-15-07, 08:50 PM
1st, don't let it frustrate you, it is pretty easy, you just need someone to talk you through. So lets get started...

Your pool will not lose salt unless you are losing water. Salt will not evaporate out with your water. The only way to lose salt is bacwashing or draining your pool. That being said, it can take 24-48 hours for your chlorine generator to calibrate. The amount of salt to add initially can only be figured by the systems manufacturer recommended levels and the gallonage of pool. I've had to add 700-1000 lbs of salt to pools initially.

What type of salt system do you have?