Aquarite interface questions

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-15-08, 12:36 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Aquarite interface questions

Hi,

I have an Aquarite chlorine generator and would like to interface to my home automation system. I see some connections in the box but don't know if they are Rs-232, 485, current-loop, etc?

I just need the correct connections and I can write the software I need to talk to it.

Any help appreciated and thanks in advance.

Gerry
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-15-08, 03:17 PM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Optional Goldline, Pentair and Polaris controls:
The Goldline, Pentair and Polaris controls use a 4 wire connection to communicate to the
Aqua Rite and can be wired up to 500' apart. Any outdoor rated 4 conductor cable can
be used. Refer to each manufacturer's instructions and the wiring diagrams below for
proper wiring connection to the Aqua Rite. NOTE: There must be only 1 "primary" unit.
All other Aqua Rite units must be configured as "secondary".

Input power for use with Goldline, Pentair and Polaris
controls:
Wire the Aqua RiteŽ DIRECTLY to 120/240VAC power (not through timer or relay).
Optional Goldline, Pentair and Polaris controls:
The Goldline, Pentair and Polaris controls use a 4 wire connection to communicate to the
Aqua Rite and can be wired up to 500' apart. Any outdoor rated 4 conductor cable can
be used. Refer to each manufacturer's instructions and the wiring diagrams below for
proper wiring connection to the Aqua Rite. NOTE: There must be only 1 "primary" unit.
All other Aqua Rite units must be configured as "secondary".
Goldline - Attach wires to proper screw terminals as shown below.
Pentair - Attach wires to opposite numbered screw terminals as shown below. Note
that the colors marked on the Pentair PCB do not match the Aqua Rite.
http://www.haywardnet.com/products/m.../Manual193.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 03-16-08, 05:31 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Thanks for the info. I did find that info in the manual, however. What I need to know about those 4 wires that connect to different controllers is the function of each. Is it RS-232 or 485 or some other signaling protocol and if so, which one is the transmit, receive, etc. What I want to do if possible, is go right from the aquarite generator to my PC. I would be happy with just being able to read the display remotely. I'm thinking that that info could be hard to get.

Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 03-16-08, 09:09 AM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sorry, this would have been easier - rs-232
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-08, 09:40 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great! So now one should be xmit, one receive, one signal ground, and one chassis ground, correct? There are 4 wire positions, so now the BIG question: which one is which?

Thanks.

Gerry
 
  #6  
Old 03-16-08, 10:29 AM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unfortunately I don't know that. I'd contact the 800 # and ask their technical dept. They will be happy to help...
 
  #7  
Old 03-16-08, 07:09 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Thanks. I guess I'll have to contact them.

Also, I'm thinking that it may not be RS-232 since they say the units can be 500' apart. I believe 500' exceeds the specs of RS-232. I'm guessing 485?

Thanks again for all your help. I'll let you know what happens...

Gerry
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: