D.E. Filter question

Old 05-27-08, 11:12 AM
D.E. Filter question

I'm hoping I can get some help....

I recently bought a home with a pool. I have no experience with one unfortunately. I have a D.E. filter for it that is not running properly.

I have read that when the pressure goes UP, it means you need to backwash and add more D.E. But what could it mean if the pressure is way down?

According to the badge on the filter, normal pressure is 45lbs. Mine is running at 15-20lbs. I have cleaned out the skimmer baskets next to the filter, and for the waterfall, but no change.

If it helps any, I did notice that one skimmer (poolside) has much stronger suction than the other poolside skimmer. Also, if I want to run the heater, I have to put the filter on "recirc". If I don't, the heater will start up, then the pipes leading to it rattle (as if not getting enough water) and then the automatic safety shutoff kicks in. It will continuously cycle like that. If I recirc, it works fine.

Not sure what to do....as far as I know it has been more than a year since it was last cleaned out. Maybe that needs to happen? Any help is VERY appreciated!!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-27-08, 11:27 AM
I've never seen a normal pressure of 45psi, normal is usually around 15-20psi. You should open your filter and clean all grids with a water hose to get all D.E. out. Then put back together and add d.e. to skimmer, this way you know you are starting with a clean filter. The heater issue is that it is not getting enough circulation, another reason to clean filter, it is probably caked with d.e.

Old 05-27-08, 04:39 PM
Smile

We have an D.E. filter for our pool and regular working pressure starts at 10 lbs and reaches approx. 20lbs. At that time we "BUMP" the filter with the handle attached at the top, Three times quickly after working pressure reaches 20lbs plus. After we bump the starting pressure resumes at 10lbs. However before the bumping process we turn off the pump.
hope this helps
Jim