Pool Pump Timer Recommendations?


  #1  
Old 06-02-08, 10:03 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Pool Pump Timer Recommendations?

I'd like to setup my pump on a timer. The only one that I've found in the big-box retailers (i.e. Lowes and Home Depot) is one from Intermatic. But this only supports a maximum of 7/8 HP and has a 14 gauge wire. I need something to support a 1 HP pump, and 12 gauge wire. What timers does everyone else use (if any)? Should I just try my pool supplier to purchase a timer?
 
  #2  
Old 06-02-08, 12:59 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,016
Received 67 Votes on 56 Posts
Intermatic T104P3 on mine; supports 2hp. I'm surprised the big box guys don't carry a big enough one. If you can stand a short weight you might surf for one on-line. I'm afraid one you buy at a retail pool store may be a little pricey.

Here's some sample sources:

http://www.aquasuperstore.com/Search...CategoryID=357
http://www.poolplaza.com/pool-timers...etectors.shtml
http://www.inyopools.com/Products/02400031001284.htm
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-08, 01:09 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

Like said check on a Intermatic timer . Also in the bigbox store ask for a water heater timer they go up to 40 amp for a 2 and 3 hp. Might see if you can buy at Grainger or Johnstone supply.
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-08, 07:23 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool

Originally Posted by the_tow_guy View Post
Intermatic T104P3 on mine; supports 2hp. I'm surprised the big box guys don't carry a big enough one. If you can stand a short weight you might surf for one on-line. I'm afraid one you buy at a retail pool store may be a little pricey.

Here's some sample sources:

http://www.aquasuperstore.com/Search...CategoryID=357
http://www.poolplaza.com/pool-timers...etectors.shtml
http://www.inyopools.com/Products/02400031001284.htm
Is this intermatic that you have installed directly to the line, or is it plugged into the recepticle (similar to your standard light timer)? If it needs to be wired, is this something that I can do myself fairly easily? I'm not too comfortable with electric wiring.

I saw some at Lowe's - one is a single-pole and one is a double-pole. I have no idea what that means... currently we have a switch on the deck to turn the pump on/off, but the previous owner wired it in. I guess I could just replace the switch with a timer.
 
  #5  
Old 06-03-08, 04:30 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,016
Received 67 Votes on 56 Posts
Mine is hard-wired. I'll leave the electrical install question for the pro's.

Is your motor 110 or 220v?

Yes, the timer would essentially just replace the manual switch; the timer will have a manual override lever for turning on and off between cycles.
 
  #6  
Old 06-03-08, 06:00 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 150
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by the_tow_guy View Post
Mine is hard-wired. I'll leave the electrical install question for the pro's.

Is your motor 110 or 220v?

Yes, the timer would essentially just replace the manual switch; the timer will have a manual override lever for turning on and off between cycles.
I'm unsure if it's 110v or 220v. I'll take a look when I get a chance. I guess this will determine which timer I need to buy, right?

I've posted a new thread to the electricians with my questions regarding the wiring. Did you have an electrician wire yours?
 
  #7  
Old 06-03-08, 01:45 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,016
Received 67 Votes on 56 Posts
Good idea; this is kind of subject that is more "electrical" than "pool". Mine was existing when we bought the house, but I could have installed it.
 
  #8  
Old 06-04-08, 07:07 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 540
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2 pole means 220 - volts 1 pole 120 - volts

your 1.0 hp pump motor can run on either voltage, on the motor itself or the plate covering the wire connections is the wiring scematic , look on your breaker panel & seef if the breaker that feeds your pump is a single breaker or a double breaker, or just test the two wires from the switch to the motor, with a voltage tester, or multimeter, set on a/c volts
set higher then 240 volts. if your not sure about any of this, maby you indeed should call a qualifed pool technitian

steve
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: