Amount of water flow in a 1.5" pipe

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-03-08, 09:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
Amount of water flow in a 1.5" pipe

Hi There.
I was wandering how much water can go through a 1.5" pipe.
We have an inground pool with a 1.5hp pump and 1.5" pipes. My intentation was to hook another 1.5 hp pump for a solar system I plan to build. I would hook the second pump on the same input line as the filter pump for the solar system. But I don't know if there is enough water flow through that size of hose. Can the skimer deals with this amount of water?
Thanks for your thoughts
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-04-08, 07:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 540
if this is a normal type swimming pool pump, hayward super 2
sta-rite dura glass, or pentair whisperflow , the answer is

no.
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-08, 08:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 12
Thanks Stevie, that's what I thought. Too bad the installers didn't put a 2.0" pipe as this is what was recommended from the pump manufacturer.
Well the wife will have to endure to black pipes running to the pool.
 
  #4  
Old 06-05-08, 05:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 540
I apologise for not giving you a more, complete answer, if indeed you have one of those model pumps I listed, they have enough , power, flow, to do this dual job, as long as the run to the panels is not over 80 ft. then up the roof of a one story , the pipes will need to be a minimum of 2 " youll need a plumbing diagrapham & an automatic control,
this setup is quite normal , compool [ pentair ] makes a control for this and you should be able to get the plumbing diagrapham from there site.

steve
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'