Cal Spa Hot Tub Problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-14-09, 10:55 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 84
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cal Spa Hot Tub Problem

I have a Cal Spa built in 1998 where I'm having trouble with the power to the control board. Currently the tub is empty and I was wondering if that would cut power to the circuit board (C2000R2A) in the control panel underneath. There is 240V to the board and 120V to the transformer however no power to the integrated circuits.

If the pressure switch sensed that there wasn't any water in the tub would it cut power to the control board? I tried shorting out the leads to the switch with a paper clip but that didn't do anything.

How can I check to see if the pressure switch is good? I checked the actual switch by pressing the make and break contact with a screwdriver and it closes and shorts the normally open contacts but I'm not using the pressure to close it.

The switch is a Tri Delta pressure switch Model #3037P. I can't find that number anywhere so hopefully someone can tell me how it works. I think it's set at 1 PSI right now.

Also, I measured the resistance of the heating element and it read 11.5 ohms. Does this sound about right? It's a 240V 5500W heater.

The panel on top of the tub to adjust the temperature, light and jets doesn't eluminate so I think that's related to the power on the board.

Does anyone know where I can get a schematic of the circuit board? It's a Balboa Instrument board with the number
ELE09100090 on it. Everywhere I call they just want to sell me a new board.

Any help would be appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-14-09, 11:39 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,418
Received 590 Votes on 544 Posts
I do not know Cal Spas but you might have a high limit switch in/on the heater that will kill power to the spa if it senses a temperature too hot. Powering up the spa without water could cause it to quickly overheat.

Generally powering-up a spa not filled with water is a bad idea unless you have disconnected the heater.
 
  #3  
Old 10-15-09, 06:05 AM
C
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
An empty tub or a bad pressure switch will not disable the circuit board. There are no mechanical or resettable high limit switches.

Since you have 220V going to the board and 110V going to the transformer but no control panel functions and no automatic filtration or heating it sounds like you have a bad transformer.

The transformer operates all the low voltage coils for the relays and powers the control panel.

You can test the coils of the transformer with an ohm meter. Check the resistance through each coil and then between the coils. You could also check with a clamp-on Ammeter.

If the transformer is bolted to the box it's a pretty easy replacement.

If it's soldered to the board you may be better off getting a replacement board unless you're prepared to de-solder/re-solder a component.

You might also have a bad input power fuse especially if the tub was ever mis-wired. This fuse is typically soldered to the board and can be changed but not easily.

The circuit boards are proprietary to Cal Spas so you'll never get a schematic out of Balboa.
 

Last edited by the_tow_guy; 10-15-09 at 08:47 AM. Reason: Removed contact information
  #4  
Old 10-15-09, 10:37 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 84
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, I will check the resistance of the transformer tonight.
 
  #5  
Old 10-16-09, 07:16 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 84
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello,

I checked the resistance of the transformer and the primary is 40 ohms and the secondary is 0.7 ohms.

I tried looking up the transformer for it's specs but couldn't find it. It's a Cal Tran xformer number 30274 or 30-B62467 or 30-9746. All of those numbers are on the xformer.

Can someone tell me what the resistance should be and the output voltages or where I can find a spec sheet?

Thank You
 
  #6  
Old 10-16-09, 10:18 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,981
Received 53 Votes on 43 Posts
Might trying going right to the source:

Balboa Water Group - Frequently Asked Questions

calsparepair may or may not be back; he was banned for his user name so will have to re-register.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: