Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Garden and Outdoor Center > Pools, Spas and Hot Tubs
Reload this Page >

It's springtime, time to fix the yearly AGS error on my Laars lx400

It's springtime, time to fix the yearly AGS error on my Laars lx400

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-29-10, 12:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 10
It's springtime, time to fix the yearly AGS error on my Laars lx400

This is the least reliable heater I've ever had. It breaks at least once per year.

If anyone can help me, I'd appreciate it. Last year it was the ignitor. I tested that and it's got 55 ohms so I think that means it's good. When I turn the heater on, it runs for a while, but the ignitor never gets hot and then finally the heater stops with the Service/AGS message flashing. What next?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-30-10, 04:56 PM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
if it ignites then shuts down, could be flame proving rod
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-10, 10:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 10
It doesn't ignite. Fan comes on, but ignitor never gets hot and then finally the fan shuts off with the AGS error flashing.
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-10, 10:43 AM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
Check for 24v between ground wire and brown wire on gas valve if you get 24v you have a bad gas valve, Assuming you tested the HSI and it is good, the pool is circulating properly(clean filter ect.), and gas pressure is proper.
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-10, 03:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 10
Ok, I took the yellow and brown wire off the gas valve (metal and plastic assembly with the blue knob on it in the bottom left area of the heater) and hooked the wires up to a volt meter. The meter never read any voltage during the whole time from when I turned the heater on until the fan turned off and the "service" and "AGS" messages started flashing. There's definitely water pressure (20psi reading on the filter top) and the filter is clean. Gas pressure should be fine since I got a new larger meter one of the first few times this heater failed.
 
  #6  
Old 05-01-10, 05:03 PM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
Ground is a green wire, need to test green and brown. Bigger meter does not mean there is sufficient pressure, did gas co test pressure? It is important to have the proper pressure, if there was work in the area that you are not aware of it could have changed the pressure. This has happened many times that I know of.
 
  #7  
Old 05-02-10, 09:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 10
There are only two wires coming off the gas valve, one yellow (closer to the service door) and one brown (further from the service door).
 
  #8  
Old 05-02-10, 11:39 AM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
Sorry, I should have explained, just the brown wire from valve and use a green wire or just ground from the heater wall. I use where the green wire is screwed to heater, but you don't have to use there just a good ground.
 
  #9  
Old 05-03-10, 08:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 10
Ok, I tested the red lead on the brown wire and the black lead on the green ground wire and turned the until on several times and let it run through to the AGS error and never saw any voltage at all on the meter.
 
  #10  
Old 05-04-10, 12:17 PM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
If done properly and that is the only error, it sounds like it is the GUI
 
  #11  
Old 05-04-10, 02:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 10
What is the GUI? The display?
 
  #12  
Old 05-05-10, 03:06 PM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
yes, it is the graphical user interface.
 
  #13  
Old 05-05-10, 07:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 10
Do I need to replace the whole board and assembly? Any idea who sells that at the best price?
 
  #14  
Old 05-06-10, 11:43 AM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
It is an expensive part, I would make sure all your testing is accurate then shop some online stores for best price.
 
  #15  
Old 05-06-10, 01:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 10
Well, I believe I did that test correctly. There's no way I'm going to spend $800 (part R0329600) to fix this piece of trash. I'd rather put that towards a more reliable brand. No more Jandy/Laars for me. Any suggestions?
 
  #16  
Old 05-06-10, 03:12 PM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
sta-rite makes a good high efficiency heater.
 
  #17  
Old 05-07-10, 09:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 10
How about Hayward? They've got one for 1400 at Leslie's.
 
  #18  
Old 05-07-10, 10:58 AM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
its not high efficiency if you are looking for it. Should be able to find it cheaper...
 
  #19  
Old 05-09-10, 10:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 10
The heater runs for less than 100hrs per year, so although efficiency is important, reliability and longevity are the most important things to me.

By the way, Pentair makes StaRite Max E Therm and Pentair MasterTemp and both are claiming to be high efficiency.
 
  #20  
Old 05-09-10, 07:20 PM
todrut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,212
Pentair bought sta-rite, but still made by sta-rite. Both very good heaters.
 
  #21  
Old 05-14-10, 07:58 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 1
My lx400 lights, heats for 2 seconds then the gas valve closes and it shuts down.

You mentioned at the start of this thread that it could be a bad flame sense rod. Is there a way to test this? I removed it and it looked clean. The wire to the controller looks fine.

Also is there an access panel to the inside of the combustion chamber. Mice ate some of the interior insulation and there are chunks of it between the burners. (blocking airflow perhaps)

I have had this thing for 5 years and every spring something different seems to go wrong,
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'