Pool filter stops working on backwash

Old 05-28-10, 12:50 PM
Pool filter stops working on backwash

Never had this happen before, but I'm relatively new to pools so not sure if it's just me or what.

Have a sand filter and a 1.5HP Hayward pump. Normally once a week or so I'll backwash the filter to clear out the junk that's built up in the filter.

Every other year I take the filter apart and clean out and 'chunks' that have formed in the sand.

The last time I cleaned it was last week. As of two days ago, after having worked flawlessly for a few years, the pump will no longer work when backwashing.

The backwash process starts, and runs for about 7-10 seconds, then suddenly loses all suction and no longer backwashes anything.

Any ideas on where I should start looking to fix the problem?

The pump will work fine in normal circulation mode.

It doesn't work in the "rinse" mode though, similar to the backwash mode.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-28-10, 03:03 PM
Ah geez, sounds like you stay current on all the maintainance items that your aware of. So this one might be a tuffy.

Any ideas on where I should start looking to fix the problem?
When you loose backwash is the strainer pot still full?

Old 05-28-10, 06:04 PM
Does it loose prime and fill pump strainer with air? Is there pressure in the filter? And you say in the filter position it circulates properly? What model filter is it?

Old 05-28-10, 09:55 PM
Originally Posted by mickblock
When you lose backwash is the strainer pot still full?
No, when I lose pressure on the backwash process, the pump strainer is sucking air. If I leave it in that position, it will pump a very slow trickle of water into the strainer area. Eventually if I leave it there long enough, it seems to stop pumping water at all.