Pool 12 volt light

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-10, 04:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North West Georgia USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pool 12 volt light

I have a 12 volt Color Logic Hayward pool light. As stated it is 12 volt.
I also have a Fiberstars 110 volt controller that will turn it on and off. Can I use this controller to operate the 12 volt light.

I have a 12 volt transformer. Should I place the transformer after the controller or before the controller?


thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-03-10, 06:02 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you put that 120v on the 12v, it will light, one time and very bright.

Use the transformer. Make sure the VA rating is sufficient to carry the load for the light. Also make sure the light is 12VAC not DC. Or maybe the light has the option of ac/dc.

If it's a dc light,. then you will need a 14VAC transformer and a bridge rectifier. The bridge converts ac to dc and will consume (drop) a volt or 2 making the dc. You can get one at radio shack and then look up on the net to see how to wire it. It's easy.

Also, ALWAYS fuse a new load in the tub for that extra component. At Radio Shack, buy a fuse holder and 1A or 2A fuse (again, check what current the light draws and add an amp for a fuse to protect wiring to that load).
 
  #3  
Old 11-03-10, 06:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North West Georgia USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The light is 12 volt AC. The controller is 115 volt AC. What I needed to know is can
I Put a a/c transformer on the wire before it goes to the light and reduce the voltage from 115 AC to 12 Volt AC?

All this other stuff you speak of is totally greek to me.
 
  #4  
Old 11-08-10, 02:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 26
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You sure can. I would still try and fuse the circuit between your controller and the transformer. If the transformer ever shorted, got wet, or somehow malfunctioned, you would probably be replacing the controller. Just a little protective thought.
 
  #5  
Old 11-08-10, 04:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North West Georgia USA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the help. I will add the fuze for securigty
Tom
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: