Sundance Spa Altamar 2000

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-08-13, 08:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Sundance Spa Altamar 2000

Hi All, new UK user here!

I'm having some issues with the above spa - it has the sentry spa control system main board.

Issue is as follows - after a few months of inactivity when i turn the spa on (filled with water of course) the temperature shows 25-26 (even though the water is freezing cold) and it shows ice/cool on display.

The temperature then rises every second or two - until it gets to 42-43 and then it shows FLO.

Having read around it looks like the temp sensor is gone - but could it also be the hi/lo sensor at fault??

I would just like to diagnose correctly so I don't spend more money on parts than required!

Thanks for looking.
Carl
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-08-13, 10:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Or even the flow switch??

Anyone offer any advice?

Thanks again!
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-13, 04:57 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,637
Have you confirmed that the circulation pump is working and water flowing?

Circulation pumps and stick if the spa is not filled and used. Minerals sort of cement the impeller in place if it is allowed to dry out. If it is stuck it usually just takes a disassembly and cleaning to get it working again.
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-13, 10:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,457
While waiting to see if the pump is actually moving water..... I left you a link to Sundance for manuals. In case you don't have the owners manual .... you could get one. At the bottom of the page click on # 3 - portable spas 50hz (export)

Owner Resources - Sundance Spas
 
  #5  
Old 04-09-13, 12:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks for replys!

Yes - water is flowing well and both pumps are working fine.
 
  #6  
Old 04-10-13, 01:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Can anyone help with this?

Cheers!
 
  #7  
Old 04-10-13, 10:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,457
The temperature then rises every second or two - until it gets to 42-43 and then it shows FLO.
When it gets to that point is the water in the spa at the temperature it should be or is it still cold ?

Is the pump still running when it says FLO on the screen ?

I'm concerned at the speed the temp rises. That amount of temp change should take hours not seconds. That would suggest that there is a water flow problem in the heater.

Your temp sensor doesn't sound like it's reading correctly either.

I've been reading thru the limited service info I can find and based on that it looks like the temp sensor is bad. If the water temperature overheated in the heater the hi limit should activate and show OH on screen.

Once you answer the two questions we'll see if we can come to a final diagnosis.
 
  #8  
Old 04-11-13, 06:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks for your help PJ.

The water is cold as the temperature rises, as you say it should take hours to get to where it ends up!

When it says FLO on the screen the pumps stop.

Hope this helps!

thanks again!
 
  #9  
Old 04-13-13, 04:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
bump!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'