Aquarite Chlorine Generator

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-06-14, 02:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Aquarite Chlorine Generator

I have an Aquarite Chlorine Generator that is about ten years old. I have replaced the cell a few times and the latest time was four months ago. I replaced the flow control switch two months ago. Last week algae started growing in the pool so I checked on my controller.

The display was blank and the led lights would not illuminate. I checked the fuse which was burned out and replaced it. Display and led's still wouldn't illuminate. Called Hayward tech support to ask about problem and if it was the display board and he said that if the display board goes bad you should still get the power light illuminating. So per Hayward the display panel should be okay.

Saw post on this website about the black thermistor's going bad. I checked it and noticed a few cracks so I ordered one from Digitkey and replaced it. Still I do not have any display or led's and chlorine is not getting generated.

Anyone have any ideas?????? I don't have a volt meter so I can't check voltage, etc.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-06-14, 09:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,439
If you go back and read that thread again.... in one of my posts I describe two other varistors that can go bad.
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-14, 10:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
The chlorine generator ran fine for a couple weeks then the fuse melted again. Any clue to why this would happen or what I need to check? I replaced the red and black thermistors that you mentioned. Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 07-11-15, 11:17 AM
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
did you get no light problem resolved? i have no lights except the no-flow blinking until it times out.
thermister "looks" good.
 
  #5  
Old 07-14-15, 07:24 AM
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
followup...what should the ohms be accross the sl32 2ro25 still in place?
 
  #6  
Old 07-14-15, 08:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,439
The resistance should be 2 ohms +/- 20%.
 
  #7  
Old 07-17-15, 02:29 PM
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
i replaced main board with a new one after replacing the current limiter and capacitor. still no leds except blinking no-flow for. 45 seconds.
i read " voltage accross display pins 1 and 3 from the left should be 5vdc. if yes, display is bad. i have .25vdc. so now what?
voltages and resistances of transformer appear tobe all within spec.
 
  #8  
Old 06-07-16, 02:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Aqua-rite chlorinator - False low salt reading

Hello, I have been reading posting on low salt readings everywhere. I have had my aqua-rite system for about 9 years...upgraded motherboard about three years ago...over the past year multiple problems with the salt cell readings...esp. the instant salt level reading when trying to re-calibrate the system. I constantly get a low reading such as 800-1100...so of course my average level will drop below the 2200 level and stop chlorinating. I have gone through new cells...generic and brand name...neither works any better...My neighbors are having the same issues. To keep our units chlorinating we have to reset everyday and "catch" the highest level of the instant salt reading which may be between 3800-4100...by the end of the day...the average level drops down around 2500...the next day...we have to reset the salt level again...wondering why so many are having the same problems? I have called Hayward...they just run us through the settings that I do over and over and over...no change...then they ask for the numbers on the cell..."Oh it's under warranty," I get told...so lets order another 500.00 cell and try it for the third time...someone within the company must know something...but if there is no resolution, I will search for a different unit from a different company...any advice on new systems?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'