Spa pump turns on every 30 minutes

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-14-16, 06:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: State of Washington
Posts: 201
Spa pump turns on every 30 minutes

2 months ago we bought an Artesian South Seas spa. In between the filtering cycles, one pump turns on every 30 minutes for 90 seconds, like clockwork, and then turns off. We didn't order our spa with a circulation pump so does what is happening seem normal?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-14-16, 06:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,387
That almost sounds like the spa is trying to maintain heat.
Can you post a model number for the spa ?
 
  #3  
Old 09-14-16, 09:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: State of Washington
Posts: 201
It is model 748L in the Deluxe Class. We have the temp set for 103. It just cycled on and the temp was 102. The heater light did come on but it did not raise the temperature at all. Right now we do not have a solar cover yet but I am thinking of getting one. We are in the Seattle area.
 
  #4  
Old 09-15-16, 01:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: State of Washington
Posts: 201
I was wrong about the heater light coming on. It was the jet light I was looking at not the heater light.
 
  #5  
Old 09-15-16, 03:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: State of Washington
Posts: 201
One more question....Pump 1, which runs the filter cycles, works fine on low speed. On high speed water seems to gulp into the filter area. Is that considered surging and thus an airlock? We had our last hot tub for 22 years and only had to replace one of the pumps at 17 years. We finally ditched it because the cedar cabinet was rotting out, some sensor wasn't holding the proper temp, and leaks were becoming troublesome. In a full foam tub they were a pain in the rear.
 
  #6  
Old 09-15-16, 08:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,387
I've been trying to find some tech info on the control box and haven't found what I'm looking for yet.

Have you checked with the dealer you purchased it from ?
 
  #7  
Old 09-16-16, 09:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: State of Washington
Posts: 201
I do have a call in to the dealer. They checked back with me to verify the info. They said they would check back with me when they found the appropriate person who would have the knowledge about this.
 
  #8  
Old 09-16-16, 07:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,387
Hmmmmm..... it does seem to be a mystery.
I'm still checking but I don't directly with any Artesian dealers.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'