raypak 2100 pilot replacement issue

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-14-17, 11:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 10
raypak 2100 pilot replacement issue

The pilot clogged and rusted. Replaced taht and the thermopile. I can get the pilot to light now. But doesnt stay lit when the button is released. The replacement pilot gas tube is only about 1/8 inch. the one that came off was about 1/4 inch. i ordered by the model number. Is this enough to keep the pilot from burning correctly?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-14-17, 10:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,387
replacement pilot gas tube is only about 1/8 inch. the one that came off was about 1/4 inch.
That would usually mean two different nuts sizes where the tubes are not interchangeable.

If the nuts are the same thread/size then the pilot gas pressure may need to be increased to get the same amount of gas out of a much smaller tube.

The flame needs to be big and bushy. The pilot generator needs to be completely engulfed in the flame to operate correctly.
 
  #3  
Old 06-15-17, 08:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 10
i do have a blue bushy flame. All of the fittings swapped right over. I pulled the thermopile and it seems the flame is only hitting the tip of it. Are these adjustable? Or could that be a factor of low pressure?
 
  #4  
Old 06-15-17, 08:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 44,387
It's hard to tell if the flame is good without seeing it.

Just heating the tip is not enough. Possibly the bracket is bent causing a misalignment. If you have a voltmeter you can do checks to see how well the pilot generator is performing. Page 42 on has a diagnostic routine and PG voltages.

Is this natural gas or propane ?
Did you get the correct orifice for the type of gas.... there are two available.

Raypak_rp2100manual.pdf
 
  #5  
Old 06-19-17, 10:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 10
I have been busy and havent messed with it. I am going to check the voltage. It appears the flame is hitting the top 1/4 of the thermopile at best.The old one i pulled out looks like flame hit about dead center. I also ordered the 1/4 pilot tube as well.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'