Diagnosing spa heater

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-07-18, 10:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Diagnosing spa heater

Thermospas 2000 with Balboa 50796 analog control.
The heater stopped working yesterday. It was replaced 2 years ago. Spa is 240V. Checked across both heater terminals 0V, ohms 10.5.
How do you diagnose limit switches?
Trying to diagnose control or board or limit switches.
suggestions?
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-07-18, 10:59 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 18,119
Is it only the heater or has the pump and jets also stopped working?

You mentioned a voltage and ohms? Those two normally don't go together. What specifically were you checking? Was volts on the heater output of the control board? Was the ohms checking across the inputs to the heater?
 
  #3  
Old 06-07-18, 07:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,064
Be careful checking for volts and ohms. Always make sure the circuit is not powered before using the ohms setting. Some meters can explode.

You determined the heating element is good but there is no voltage to it.

Any failures should be noted on the topside spa control panel.
 
  #4  
Old 06-08-18, 06:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
I first checked voltage to the circuit board, 245V. I then checked circuit to heater with flow pump running 0V across both terminals but 124V per terminal to ground.
I turned off breaker in house panel, disconnected heater leads at control board and ohm checked them, 10.5 ohms. I bypassed Pressure sensor on circuit board, flow light came on in control head, but still no heat. I checked both heat sensors, 21.75k & 23.45k @ 89*. They seem about right. So Iím down to control head or circuit board. Can I jump relay or trip it to check for heat? I do have knowledge of electricity. Thanks
 

Last edited by k7iou1; 06-08-18 at 06:41 AM.
  #5  
Old 06-08-18, 10:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,064
I'm guessing that this control only switches one half of the 240v which is one reason for the 120v nominal to be measured. Either that or it's a 240v relay and one half is bad.

Do you have a wiring diagram for it ?
 
  #6  
Old 06-17-18, 02:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 33
Got it working, checked analog heat control and ohms was spuratic. Twisted it slightly and readings came back to normal. Been working ever since. I may pull control & reverse rheostat or order a replacement.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes