Bromine or Chlorine?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-13-18, 12:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: State of Washington
Posts: 201
Bromine or Chlorine?

Changing out the water in our hot tub today. We have always used chlorine as our sanitizer. Dichlor granules is getting harder to find at our local stores. I am thinking of changing to Bromine. Is one sanitizer better than the other?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-13-18, 01:04 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 18,158
I would skip both and go to silver ion (Nature2) with non-chlorine MPS shock/sanitizer. If you want to cut down on daily maintenance further I would install an ozone system.
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-18, 09:28 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,760
There is some concern about exposure to bromine blocking receptors in our bodies which should be taking up iodine and causing health issues as a result. Might be a subject you want to research before making any decisions.
 
  #4  
Old 06-14-18, 02:59 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 2,832
I tried Bromine in our spa for a season and it just didn't seem to work for me, I suspect having used Chlorine for so many years and knowing exactly what I needed didn't help.

I buy my tablets on line, one of those things that should be cheaper to buy locally due to weight but local pool store is over double the cost.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes