How to troubleshoot hot tub not working?


  #1  
Old 07-09-19, 08:48 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
How to troubleshoot hot tub not working?

My 15 years old hot tub does not seem to work anymore. It doesn't seem like there is any life in it. How do I go about troubleshooting this before calling the professional?
 
  #2  
Old 07-09-19, 09:13 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,330
Received 1,627 Likes on 1,461 Posts
Start at the beginning and follow the power from the beginning and see where it stops or where you run into something not working. So, is there power on the hot tub circuit? Is power getting to the hot tub? Is power getting to the control box?....
 
  #3  
Old 07-14-19, 01:13 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I followed the power and the power do come into this box underneath the hot tub. After this, I don't what else to test/look next.
 
  #4  
Old 07-14-19, 01:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,915
Received 3,161 Likes on 2,840 Posts
Are you running on 120v or 240v ?
Post a picture of the control with that cover off.
Post another picture of the back of the cover. (wiring diagram)
 
  #5  
Old 07-14-19, 08:58 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I'm running 240v. I forgot to take the picture of the controls but below is the diagram. The controls and wiring are on the upper panel and I didn't open that one. I will try to open that one sometime tomorrow.

Something I just found when I opened the panel. When the light in the middle of Tork E101B - 24 Hr. Multi-Purpose Digital Time Switch is off ( I think that means no power goes to the hot tub), I still find powers on the electrical wires that goes into the control box underneath the hot tub. So, at this point I'm not sure if the issue is with the Tork or not. If I turned off the switch on my electrical panel that goes to the Tork then there is no power at the Tork as well as the hot tub control box.

 
  #6  
Old 07-14-19, 09:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,915
Received 3,161 Likes on 2,840 Posts
Did you confirm 240vAC on the L1 and L2 connections ?
There is a fuse directly off the L1 connection in the control box. Check that.
There is a GFCI type device also shown in the L1 control line. Check that.
 
  #7  
Old 07-17-19, 05:32 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Since, it is using 240v, is it safe to use a $35 Sperry multimeter to test? Thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 07-19-19, 01:19 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,022
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Thanks for the help. I measured and it's 240v. However, I found that the GFCI was triggered since the light was lit. I pressed to reset and it works again.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: