replacing snapped spring in old mortise set

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-21-08, 08:27 AM
dmn
dmn is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United States of America
Posts: 45
replacing snapped spring in old mortise set

Hello,
I have an old interior door with an old lockset. It appears the spring that holds the latch out when the knob is not twisted has yielded for the last time (It snapped at its fulcrum).
It's a small steel (?) strip ~2" long x ~3/16" wide x less than 1/32" thick with high yield strength.
Where can I get a replacement for this? It would be lame to have to replace the lockset/door for such a simple piece of metal but I have no Idea where to get it. Halp.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-21-08, 08:37 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,961
Probably not something you will be able to just pick-up somewhere. I'd suggest a visit to a good Locksmith shop with the lock. He may have or could make a suitable replacement.

If you happen to know a good Gunsmith, he could also probably make one from stock.

At least it's an interior door.
 
  #3  
Old 11-25-08, 06:36 PM
GlobalLocky's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 925
Or look for a tube of spring steel. Some good hardware stores will sell it. Usually there are various sizes you can use to modify a replacement. I do it all the time. It's not hard.
 
  #4  
Old 03-17-09, 07:55 PM
dmn
dmn is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: United States of America
Posts: 45
as it turns out I was able to get a replacement spring just going to an architectural salvage store. They let me dig in to some broken locksets and pull out a spring. Didn't even have to pay anything (except I bought a nice faceplate).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'