Re-keying a building & lockdown ?'s...

Old 12-30-09, 05:05 PM
Re-keying a building & lockdown ?'s...

Hi everyone:

I'm hoping that some good folks might be able to give me some ideas about our lock situation. I'm an administrator in a small-town school, and we're looking into re-keying the building. Originally, I was looking at keyless entry locks that you can open with a combination, but they seem pretty expensive, and we have steel doors with crash bars, so I'm not sure if we could retrofit a keyless to fit on the door. Is this possible?

The issue I'm struggling with is that staff and others who have keys to the building get approached by others who supposedly have "legitimate needs" to have a key, and they go to the store and have keys copied. I think our whole town has a key to our school! This problem is systemic, and goes back many years through two or three re-keying attempts. If we would re-key the building, would there be any way to protect the keys from being copied countless times, or is a keyless entry system the only way to avoid this?

Can you order locks from places that are all keyed alike or keyed to user specifications, or would a locksmith actually have to come onsite and do this?

The other issue we have is with our classroom doors. The doors have a simple lock on the handle that is in the hallway. The classroom handle has nothing. If we were to put the school in a lockdown, teachers would need to grab their key, put it in the outside knob and turn it to lock the door. Not very practical if we have an emergency situation. The doors also have a 1.5ft glass pane that runs almost the entire height of the door. If an intruder desperately wanted in, all he'd have to do is punch through the glass and simply turn the knob and he's in.