Replacing a Skeleton Lock

Old 12-06-10, 01:17 PM
Replacing a Skeleton Lock

Hi,

Total newbie here and seriously need your help!

Because of a suddenly malfunctioning skeleton key lock, I am now unable to access my home office. When I insert the key into the 6:00 position, I am unable to turn it past 4:00 p.m. I've tried WD-40 and 3-in-1 oil to loosen the mechanism. Useless. I've tried all kinds of brute force moves in a futile attempt to alter the position of the lock (e.g., jiggling the doorknob or trying to change the whole position of the door by attempting to pry it up, down, or sideways with with a screwdriver). Nothing works.

Before giving up altogether and calling in a locksmith (and spending $$ I don't have), I'd like to try and remove this lock myself and take it to the locksmith for repair or replacement. But. . . I don't how to do that! So far, I've removed the strike plate and door knobs. What next? :-)

TIA!

Sponsored Links
Old 12-06-10, 03:43 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Welcome to the forums! Most likely you have a spring broken inside the mortise. I am gathering, too, you can't access the "box", since you are locked out, and only have a hole in the door to get the key in, right? Is the dead bolt part extended into the door jamb? How did you remove the door knobs without access to the other side? Strike plate, too, since you can't open it.

Old 12-06-10, 04:28 PM
Thank you so much for the welcome, Chandler! You are totally correct that I can't access the box because I am, indeed, locked out and "only have a hole in the door to get the key in."