What to look for in a deadbolt

Old 05-06-12, 05:48 PM
What to look for in a deadbolt

Id like to install some quality deadbolts throughout the external doors to my house for enhanced security. Not sure where to start. Is there a size, material preference, number of bolts etc?

Sponsored Links
Old 05-06-12, 10:09 PM
I am not an expert on deadbolts but I have installed a few over the years. I personally like the Kwikset brand because they now have the Smart Key technology that will allow you to rekey the lock without taking it apart. I have heard though that other manufacturers are already following Kwikset and have a lock like that too. Other than that though there are different lengths of bolts depending on whether you have a standard installation in your current door or not. Some people like Schlage too and we have had their locks and they are not bad. Like with any manufacturer though there are different grades of locks within different manufacturers. Kwikset is cheaper than most but fairly easy to install than other brands but may or may not be what you are looking for it just depends on what your budget is and what you can afford.