Trying to educate on door locks/deadbolts/keyways/different brands

Old 01-22-14, 08:33 PM
Trying to educate on door locks/deadbolts/keyways/different brands

I'm a newbie here, sorry this is very long! I'm looking to replace current residential external door hardware on 3 doors, and I'd like them all to have the same key. Current hardware is Kwikset. Reason for changing is mainly aesthetic, and while we're at it, go for a better brand. Most people (including 1 locksmith) are telling me Baldwin is great, but to go for their higher end Estate or Reserve, and not the Prestige that is sold at big box stores. I'm not looking for feedback on brand necessarily, as I've already picked out most of the hardware but need help understanding how locks are keyed and what a keyway is to finish my selections.
Door #1 - front door will have a handleset w/ 1 deadbolt. Ordered a Baldwin estate handleset with C keyway.
Door #2 - back door A will have single cylinder deadbolt and entry door knob (I think this is what this is called - the kind with keyed lock on one side and small turnkey on other).
Door #3 - back door B will have double cylinder deadbolt (due to glass in door) and entry door knob (same knob as door #2).

My problem is finding entry door knobs for Doors #2 & 3. I have already ordered the single and double cylinder deadbolts for these doors (Baldwin Reserve C keyway). Baldwin does make a compatible entry door knob, but the only style that I like in this brand is $$$ and I'm looking for less expensive options in another brand.