Fake or real sec camera

Old 08-13-14, 07:32 AM
Fake or real sec camera

Hello
i have a neighbor installed a camera pointing directly to my house - to the patio door, kitchen window and dinning room window. Not to tell how much this is related to privacy invasion but would like to know, is this a real or one of those fake cameras. The power light goes on all the time but i dont see any wifi antenna or coax cable and it looks very vintage..Name:  DSC_6665-small.jpg
Views: 224
Size:  16.5 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-14, 09:17 AM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums.

How well do you know the neighbor? My first thought would be to ask them under the guise of whether they might be adding some security to your place.

Old 08-13-14, 09:24 AM
Group Moderator
It's certainly old. I've not seen a relatively modern real camera with a LED. Old, really old security cameras had them as do most fakes.

I'm not a lawyer but as far as privacy issues I don't think there are any. They can monitor their property. When houses are close it can be almost impossible to monitor the property (lawn, entrance paths to back yard...) without catching someone else's house in the frame. If they have the camera specifically or obviously positioned solely to pear into your home then you might have an issue.

Old 08-13-14, 09:34 AM
It does look dated, but it does look intimidating. Some neighbors a few miles away just went all the way through lawyers and code arguments and ultimately the guy that put up the camera had to remove it, his was disguised inside a bird house. In plain view, as that one is, its intention is to be obvious and scare the bad guys away before they break in. But it does invade your privacy.

I would definitely try to find a way to talk, especially after listening to the grief several families went through here. They are basically the Hatfields and McCoys now and certainly destroys any form of a friendly neighborhood.