Door Security Advice

Old 11-15-16, 01:28 PM
Door Security Advice

Hello all.

It's my first time posting anything of significance so please go easy on me.

I'm moving into a room in a house that I rent with some rather awful double windowed doors in it. I plan on using Simplisafe for some entry alarms and whatnot, but wondered if anyone had advice on taking some simple steps to secure the doors, making them at least more of an effort than smashing in or removing the window panes. I don't plan on using them to exit or enter the house at any point.

The owner of the house is pretty amenable as far as simple stuff goes, so I do have some flexibility, but minimal changes are best.

Thank you for your time or any ideas in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-15-16, 02:17 PM
Group Moderator
This is where some people will install a double cylinder deadbolt so the key needs to be inserted not only to get in but to get out. However, in an emergency, that's not a good scenario so it's generally not advised to do so (and actually not allowed in many locations). Is the landlord not willing to replace the doors with something more secure?

Old 11-15-16, 03:31 PM
Got a picture?
Keep in mind if someone really wants in, there coming in no matter what you do.
Secure the door and they still have all the windows they can come in.
Best bet get renters insurance.

Old 11-15-16, 09:14 PM
Based on your brief description and without a photo or 2, I can only address some generalities. Other than using longer strike plate screws for the deadbolt, (if you don't have deadbolts, that would be your first line of defense) there's nothing "simple" or "cheap" that will significantly improve the physical security of a french door. The use of double-cylinder deadbolts, though resulting in the best way to improve security without eliminating the windows is, as stickshift stated, not generally advised, though the degree of hazard is certainly not the same in all cases.