Power wire for new front door lock

Old 04-27-17, 06:20 AM
Power wire for new front door lock

I am installing a new front door. I would like to install a lock that can be open from buzzer on the second floor. Stairs are getting hard to do,have camera. How would I go about getting a power cable (probably 18ga,2 or 4 wire) down to where the lock would be. Also maybe a wire for a bell.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-27-17, 07:09 AM
how about a smart lock

Have you considered the type of lock that you can open remotely with your smartphone? might be easier than hardwiring it. I am no expert in locks but a quick search brought up one from kwikset called Kevo.

- Peter

Old 04-27-17, 07:13 AM
Group Moderator
Post moved to Lock Forum.

Old 04-27-17, 07:58 AM
Is there a way of getting the wire to the lock on the door jam. The door has a sidelight. So you can not come in from the side of the jam. Do not want to install some thing with a battery.

Old 04-27-17, 08:08 AM
how about a magnetic lock that would be installed at the top of the door rather than running wires to the latch?

http://www.beainc.com/wp-content/the...2020161103.pdf

- Peter

Old 04-27-17, 08:51 AM
Group Moderator
Depending on your door's construction the molding that frames up the jamb could be removed to run wires. It could be a difficult job getting it apart without destroying the pieces but a good carpenter should be able to do it. If needed a slot could also be cut to run wires. Then of course the next question comes to cost as this would be an "annoying" job so I would not do it cheap. I assume any wiring would be low voltage DC so you wouldn't have code concerns as you would with 120 VAC.

Old 04-27-17, 11:11 AM
Based on installing hundreds and servicing thousands more, I would not recommend a mag-lock for a residence. It could still be subject to the Special Locking Arrangements requirements of NFPA 101 The Life Safety Code.