Worn master key?

Old 04-26-19, 03:16 PM
M
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Worn master key?

I seem to have quite a few lock problems these days.

I have a rental property with four apartments A,B,C & D. All Schlage F series locks deadbolts and keyed entry knobs.

I have one key for each apartment, and I have a master key that works for all the apartments. This has worked fine until recently when my master key would open apartments A, C and D fine, but would not open apartment B.

Now if I try and jiggle the master key, one out of thirty times it may work.

The key to apartment B works fine. No issue. Just the master key.

so logic tells me the master key may be kind of worn, so I took out the original master key that was cut two years ago, that has not been used, and that key has the same problem. So it couldn't be the master key that is wearing?

If not, then the issue could be the pins inside apartment B's lock cylinder? But then if that's the case wouldn't the apartment key have trouble too? I am only having problems with the master key, on both the deadbolt and the keyed entry below it.

Any idea what could be causing this?

Old 04-26-19, 04:34 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 97 Votes on 85 Posts
When you have a master key system, at least one of the pins inside each lock is now in two pieces so that two different keys can open it. Some of these end up being very thin. My first thought would be to take apart the lock on door B and make sure everything looks good inside. If you've never taken a lock down to the springs and pins before, might want to pull up a video as it's no fun when the pieces start falling and flying all over the place and you have no idea where they go back.

Old 04-26-19, 04:54 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,343 Votes on 1,241 Posts
Some master key systems use 6 tumblers but use standard 5 pin keys for individuals and the master key additionally uses the 6th pin. It sounds like the 6th pin is damaged on that lock.

Old 04-26-19, 04:56 PM
R