Ridge beams


  #1  
Old 10-22-02, 12:14 PM
Joe DeLoreto
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Ridge beams

I am building a garage with a room above it and I am about to put the roof on it. The size of the room is 28 feet and it is an open concept with cathedral ceilings. What size ridge beam will I need for the roof rafters to rest on? I am putting collar ties on each rafter. Thank you.
 
  #2  
Old 10-22-02, 10:43 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 8,670
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Had you done it in the right order, you would have had to have submitted a set of plans to your local bldg. dept. to get the prermit BEFORE you started this project. That set of plans, once approved, would have answered all of your questions. The correct answer to your question is PURELY a local issue. If you were building this structure in CA, you wouldn't a ridge beam or collar ties -- you would have engineered trusses!!
 
  #3  
Old 10-23-02, 05:26 AM
Joe DeLoreto
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks Lefty for all of your help? For your information I did submit a set of plans to my local building department or else I couldn't have gotten a permit to build. Thanks for not being too condesending though.
 
  #4  
Old 10-23-02, 05:22 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Arlington, WA
Posts: 8,670
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I'm not being condesending, and you seem to have all of your ducks in a row on this. Why don't the plans specify the the size of the ridge beam? How could the plan checker approve the plans without this information? Is the info there and you just missed it, (THAT happens to all of us!), or was the info ommitted and the plan checker blew it? I would take the plans back to the bldg. dept. and ask. Worse that can happen is that the plan checker will show you where the ridge beam is noted and you'll get embarrassed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: