rotted facia board help

Old 07-22-03, 06:31 AM
gotsol
Visiting Guest
rotted facia board help

hello,
I am a new homeowner and I need some help.

there are two areas in the front of my house that have rotted facia board behind the gutters. I've done a little research but I still have questions.

I've never done this type of work before but I am pretty handy. How can I safely remove the gutters? what about removing the facia? How do I re-hang new facia?

Also, how do I properly install flashing to prevent more rot in these key areas?

Thanks

FYI the Facia apears to be 1" x 6" but that is based on my guess. And one section is so long that it is two pices joined with a 45 degree cut (like this) "/" I believe only one side needs replacing. any tips on alighning the ends and corners (also at a 45 degree angle)

Old 07-22-03, 05:40 PM
Admin Emeritus
Upvotes: 0
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hello: gotsol

In my opinion, the project you have is one that you can do as a do it yourself project. Makes a perfect weekend project... As a homeowner there will be many.

Replacement of the facia boards requires some hand tools, power tools, maybe two saw horses or a workmate table, nails, wood putty, wood screws, etc. I would highly suggest another person or two as helpers.

Remove the rain gutters. They will be screwed into the facia or some clip into brackets. The brackets are than screwed into the facia board. Some gutters use both methods or any variation.

The boards can be purchased at the local lumber yard or most large retail chain hardware stores. In this places you will need to buy a mitre box saw, handsaw and or a power saw.

As a homeowner, tools will always be required if your going to be a do it yourself handyman. Therefore, if you do not already have the tools required, the first time purchases can be costly but worth every cent over the years.