Steel vs Asphalt?

Old 11-21-03, 05:43 PM
W
WGW
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Steel vs Asphalt?

I'll be replacing our roof next spring and have noticed a few houses around that have new steel roofs.
I like the look of them and they seem more fitting for an 1870era house like ours.

a few questions for those in the know?
1:
What are the advantages of one over the other?
2:
Is one easier to install?

3:
Cost difference between the two?

4:
Life expectancy of both?

Old 11-21-03, 06:37 PM
They are both excellent roofs. Asphalt roofs are less expensive and easier to install. Not all roofers can install a steel roof. A steel roof will last about 50 years, an asphalt roof about 30 years.
Good Luck

Old 11-21-03, 06:50 PM
W
WGW
Thanks for responding Jack.
I was hoping to do the work myself, but obviously I've had no experience in steel roofing.
Can you tell me why all roofers can't install steel roofs?
I would have thought that it'd be an easier install from observing guys working on a house a few blocks away.
I would think that perhaps the cutting might be a little tricky though. My roof has 4 peaks, so there'd be a fair amount of cutting involved.

Old 11-21-03, 09:00 PM
R
I'm not a roofer but my experience has included helping on metal roofs. Some things to consider--will you be able to work on it fast enough to avoid a rain shower or two? Summer might be too hot. You'll prob need a helper or two. At least one on the ground to do the cutting. Buy yourself a nibbler as part of the cost of the job. Though in some instances you can use a circular saw with a NON-carbide blade put on backward. Get instruction from your supplier. There are several types, do your homework. Do you have a backup plan if you get discouraged in the middle of the job? If you're handy and agile I say go for it!

Old 11-22-03, 06:23 AM