Shingle Differences

Old 12-05-03, 12:26 PM
rthompson10
Visiting Guest
Shingle Differences

I'm getting quotes from roofers- Any major differences between GAf Timberline 30 year and Owens Corning Oak Ridge Series-30 Year

Old 12-05-03, 04:49 PM
Grumpy
Visiting Guest
I'm a roofer and I am GAF certified. Major differences? the consumer reports should be able to tell you. This is off the top of my head, and I have the report at the office, I think they rated GAF better than Ownes Corning, but Certianteed was best.

The major difference is the color style. All manufactrurers have slightly different shading patterns.

Old 12-06-03, 07:06 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I think Grumpy's about right with Certainteed, GAF, & O/C being rated up there 1,2,3.

Personally I've always had real good luck with Tamko, and I can usually get them for a better price, but I think alot of that has to do with them being made here in Mo.

Old 12-06-03, 10:38 AM
Grumpy
Visiting Guest
We used to use certianteed and GAF but then certianteed shut down their factory one summer for two weeks and when they opened it they jacked their prices 15%. Nobody knew why and for that whole year certianteed shingles were almost impossible to get.

We switched to GAF and never looked back. We came across the tamko and tried them because they are a slight bit cheaper but they are a very good shingle so we recommend GAF and Tamko equally!

One thing I forgot to mention... Some shingles cost less, like certianteed is on the high end and owens corning on the lower end. We are only talking a few bucks(literally), but that savings should be passed on to you. No?

Old 12-06-03, 05:41 PM
Unfortunately the Consumer Reports is done locally. They go to one area of the country and test the manufacturer's closest facility. That doesn't mean that I wouldn't look at it. It is a very good report. However, most of the manufacturers have plants throughout the country that never get tested.