Anyone use roof De-icing equipment?

Old 01-24-05, 07:19 PM
davefromnj
Visiting Guest
Anyone use roof De-icing equipment?

Hello,

I'm new to home improvement, but not to large projects. I bought my current home in October of this year (2005.) This past weekend, 1/23/05, was a major storm for New Jersey.

My roof now has massive icicles all over it and drips water that freezes onto my front steps. Obviously the down sprouts and gutters are frozen solid.

My roof has soffit vents all around it. I'm assuming that heat is passing into the attic areas melting the snow and forming the ice. I have a split-level home, and the area I'm concerned about is at an eave between 2 levels (the family room and upper bedroom.)

Is filling in this area with insulation enough to stop my ice problem?

I recently came across a website for Delta-Therm de-icing equipment. They have applications for roof, sidewalk, or driveway. Has anyone ever used this stuff? does it work? How long does it last?

Would just filling in a lot more or using better insulation cure my problems?

Also, my budget right now is maybe $5,000. If I can wait till next season, I could set it for maybe $10,000. How much would this stuff cost? No sites list a price. I'm on a 50x100 lot. I would only need the deicing gear on the front (about 20ft wide) and the back (about 20ft wide.)

I'm pretty clueless on this.

Old 01-25-05, 05:02 AM
jv225
Visiting Guest
I would recommend adding more insulation and checking to make sure the soffit vents are not blocked.Also do you have a ridge vent on your house?If not it should be installed. Ridge vent works together with soffit vents.Those are the two problems that cause ice build up insufficient insulation and not enough/no ventilation.

Old 01-25-05, 05:04 AM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You can buy "heat tape" at your local roofing materials distributors.
Jim

Old 01-25-05, 07:00 AM
davefromnj
Visiting Guest
Yes!

Yes!