roof question


  #1  
Old 02-08-05, 01:18 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
roof question

I want to tie a new roof to an existing roof . Can I remove the fascia and soffit and tye into the existing rafters . This is going to be a sun or Florida type room over a patio with open wall that I will sreen in .
 
  #2  
Old 02-09-05, 06:45 AM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,348
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
hi
yes you can but you need a flashing that is insert between the old roof and the new one to preavent leaking.

cheers

[pg
 
  #3  
Old 02-09-05, 06:46 AM
pgtek's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: north Carolina
Posts: 1,348
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
ops forgot
you better check with your county, you might need a permit and submit plan and have approval first

cheers

pg
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-05, 10:08 AM
shinstr's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berkley Michigan
Posts: 227
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
tie-in

Jimi,
If you are going to physically tie the structures together as you described,
you will need to remove the first three rows/courses of shingles so that your roofing membrane for the sun room can run up under the existing roofing, then replace the shingles you removed keeping the nails "high" in the lowest course. This will provide a seamless transition with no seperate flashings required. Less is more! The more you try to divide the roof areas...the more chance to create a problem.

Good Luck!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: