shingles over existing shingles

Old 03-22-05, 09:29 AM
smacky
Visiting Guest
shingles over existing shingles

Is there any leveling that has to be done when applying shingles over an existing shingle roof or may I just follow the old roof shingles.

Old 03-22-05, 09:49 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Wink

Just put them on is all. But I would take the old shingles off and do a good job.

ED

Old 03-22-05, 03:09 PM
E
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ed is right that it's better to strip off the old roof.

But, if you insist....check to see if the rows of shingles are straight. If they are, and you're using the same style of shingle, you could do the "But&run". I never use it cause I think it's a bit lazy, being I'm a roofer getting paid to roof, but alot of "roofers" around here do it that way. It would mean cutting back the first row of new shinglles at the drip edge, even with your drip desired line. Then just "but" each following row up to the bottom of the next old shingle.
Make sure you install a "starter" shingle at the eve edge first, regarless of the fact it already "has shingles there".

Old 03-22-05, 08:25 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,960 Upvotes on 1,757 Posts
I don't roof for a living, but I've done at least 100 roofs, and I'd like to think I do a pretty darn good job. (unlike the reputation some roofers in my area have.) So I'd like to ask E. Dodge (or Ed) a question regarding this topic.

You say that it's "a bit lazy" to do it that way. (cutting off the first row then butt and go) I guess I've always thought that was the BEST way to do it, since the shingles will lay a lot flatter that way. If you draw out on a piece of paper how the shingles lay, maybe you will see this is true. It really has nothing to do with it being a shortcut (even though it might be).