Roof vents


  #1  
Old 04-01-05, 07:51 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Brookfield Wi.
Posts: 167
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Roof vents

I need to add some roof vents can you help me out!
 
  #2  
Old 04-02-05, 08:25 AM
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 3,140
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Roof Vents

In order to give you some help, we need some more information. what type of vents were you thinking of. Why do you want them. What kind of roof do you have. What style of roof do you have. What are the vents for. Given this information, we can give you some input.
 
  #3  
Old 04-02-05, 08:38 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wink

Like said what do you have there????? Just off hand .You need 1 sq ft for every 150sq ft of attic. 1/2 in and 1/2out.
For a vent fan there in the attic you need attic sq ft X 0.7=Cfm of fan.

ED
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-05, 12:21 PM
Stanek
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Roof Vents Again

I have a 5/12 pitch roof and am putting a new room under it that is going to be vaulted. I'll put sheetrock right onto the underside of the rafters and will use a rigid insulation to get my R30. I plan on leaving a gap above the insulation and already have eave vents but need to get venting at the top end of each "cell" space between the rafters to get the air flow. I'm thinking of using a ridge vent but due to another roof line that intersects this ridge I thought I would just do regular round vents between each rafter. Then I thought, what if I place a little bigger vents over the top of the rafter thus splitting a vent between two cells and thereby cutting in half the number of vents on my roof? If I still keep the 1 to 150 ratio would this be ok?
 
  #5  
Old 04-04-05, 12:47 PM
Stanek
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Whoops. Sorry, meant to start a new thread.
 
  #6  
Old 04-10-05, 04:50 PM
john allen
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question owner

i have a small house about 1000sq.foot i am putting a new roof on it. it has a gable roof with gable vents. do i need to put a ridge vents on it or not? do i need to close the gable vents if i do. now is the time to do what i need to do i am in ms. thank you, john [it also has eave vents]
 
  #7  
Old 04-10-05, 05:53 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wink

Keep the gable vents for sure.Might want to put a gable vent fan on a tstat up there also. Make sure air from the vents in the over hange of the home can get over the insulation and up into the attic to get out the gable vents.

ED
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: