Flashing/Tyvek sequence for windows

Old 06-15-05, 11:37 AM
Flashing/Tyvek sequence for windows

I've rebuilt two sides of my duplex, replacing everything (including the mudsill). The plywood sheathing is up, the windows are ready. I'm now studying flashing procedures for the windows. They seem to indicate that the Tyvek housewrap goes on first (slitted at the top for window head flashing), followed by 9" flashing at the windows over the Tyvek (bottom sill first, and overlapped top to bottom).

Most of the 9" window flashing rolls I've seen have self-adhesive backing on them. I can see how this would be useful if the flashing was applied directly to the sheathing. However, if this flashing is to be applied over the Tyvek, it would seem that through-fasteners would be needed too -- and the flashing adhesive would then be of limited use.

Am I missing something here? And: Is there something "better" to use for window flashing than the SBB (asphalt) based flashing rolls? I read on one label that this stuff doesn't like PVC. Does that mean that it shouldn't be used with vinyl windows?

Sponsored Links
Old 06-15-05, 05:35 PM
Group Moderator
Upvotes Received: 131
It's recommended that you use Tyvek peel and stick products with Tyvek housewrap. If you purchase Tyvek Straightflash, you can follow the instructions on the box. The June 2005 issue of Journal of Light Construction also has a nice article on this very topic. In a nutshell: