Why ME?

Old 08-04-05, 02:03 PM
PhilC
Visiting Guest
Question Why ME?

I apologize for any spelling errors, emotion behind post has me steaming so sorry in advance.

I am hoping for some advice regarding an addition-extended dormer) that was added to a very close friend of mine's home, by a "friend" that has the 'looks good from where I live motto.

My background is in construction, my father is a G.C., in Florida, I too am licensed, so helping this person whose home was built in 1953 in Maryland has raised some curiously new Questions for me.

To start with his friend added a full extended dormer to an old cape cod adding god knows how much dead weight without so much as adding a single collar tie to the rafters. This is a joist and rafter simple roof, althought there is NO Ridge Beam Don't ask me.

Anyway he simple tied new 2X6 rafters to the existing roof, built a header for the new partition walls (which places the load bearing of these new rooms 6 ft away from the support walls, i.e. no true support.

The new pitch is 4/12 vs the original 8/12 which in a cold climate is for sure going to add an immense amount of snow weight to the new roof (which by the way he reshingled over existing using new install nails and not extended ones, )not to mention all the normal live weight.

Also He simply ran a 2x4 along the new gable with only 2 vertical riser 2x4 and no other vertical support from old roof 2 new OR from attic joists to old rafters on gable ends (to support new dead weight)

What I'm looking for is anyone with some knowledge on older, pre-1960 homes and how best to properly strengthen the new addition.

What I have planned thus is:
add Ridge beam (Just butted rafters now ) with no ties just 2 10d nails and sagging up to 3/4 at butt joints (coincidently the worse sheer pull at both ends of new roof tie in.....HMMMMM)

New headers and gable support for new roof addition to existing attic joists and exterior walls.