Peak Shingle repair job

Old 10-20-05, 09:59 AM
vtdaug
Visiting Guest
Question Peak Shingle repair job

Hello,

I have a roof with a 45 degree pitch where most of the peak shingles have fallen or broken off. The roof is only 16 years old and there is an inch of Cor-a-vent under the peak. The old shingles are 9 inches with an overlap of 3 and broke at the crease. The new shingles are 13 1/4 inches with an overlap of 7.

A few questions:
Will the larger shingles last longer?
How should they be creased so they won't break?
Does the type of nail make a difference (I'm using 2 inch galvanized)?
Is there a treatment after installation to make the new shingles last longer?
An asphalt shingle roof should last about 30 years, right?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by vtdaug; 10-20-05 at 10:03 AM. Reason: Mark as question and add a thankyou
Old 10-21-05, 07:00 PM
L
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
dont know much about roofs but i do know you need to use roofing nails thats what they are called

Old 10-23-05, 07:04 PM
Labman
Visiting Guest
When you say peak shingles, do you mean the cap shingles that sit flat on the peak usually covering a ridge vent material? if so, they sell them in bundles specifically for that purpose. The amount of reveal is usually dependent on the shingle, as far as nails go, I used nails that came with the cobra ridge vent material. I think they were 2" alum. Not sure if I understan the creasing, If I'm on track with what you mean, the cap shingles are bent over the peak not really creased. Hope this helps. Check out this link:
www.hammerzone.com they have some great how to pictures.

http://www.hammerzone.com/archives/roof/index.htm

Old 10-23-05, 09:20 PM
dougger
Visiting Guest
It sounds like your roof is a 12/12 which is pretty much as steep as they get. It's common for the ridge shingles to crack while being installed in the cold on roofs as steep as yours.