a question for contractors

Old 11-19-05, 04:30 PM
seantheroofer
Visiting Guest
a question for contractors

i have been roofing in florida for almost 14 years now, and for the first ever in my career i have found out that the company i work for only has 8 jobs lined up. thats roughly a week and half worth of work. the first week dec. ill be out of work intill something comes in. so i started thinking (at my wifes nudging) ,why not do new construction or sub smaller work?
now ive got kids so igotta find work fast. i have a truck, guns, compressor, ladder, tearoff tools, etc.
why should i work for 13 dollars an hour, when i could get 15 a square?
now my question is? how would be the best way to aproach someone about this? cold calling from the telephone book?, going to their office?
i need to find work fast its almost christmas. thank you for reading this,
sean king

Old 11-19-05, 05:35 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If you feel you can handle the pressure of handling the complaints I would go for it. You will have to have insurance and be bonded. Having lived in Ocala Florida, I found that you need licenses for everything. As far as beating the bush for jobs, I think most people want to meet you in person so they can ask all the pertinent questions face to face. Good luck on your endeavor.

Old 11-20-05, 07:19 PM
dougger
Visiting Guest
I'm a licensed bonded insured roofing in Minnesota doing 80% new construction and 20% tear offs yearly.

At this moment I've done 300 sq's of new roofs straight and have 90sq's sitting before I even think about doing another tear off! I've got two builders who build between 20-40 homes a year and three smaller builders.