roof mold


  #1  
Old 01-10-06, 08:44 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ny
Posts: 56
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
roof mold

wanted to get some opinions

Im in NY
I discovered mold in a tight area of the attic on the underside. the
roof is only a couple yrs old, has both soffit (was sealed I opened holes every 3 feet or so) and ridge vents (gaf cobra). Ive been sealing air any leaks to the attic i can find. Ive been
told by a couple of local roofers to add a power ventilator and put in gable vents also. but this
http://www.ronhungarter.com/ventilation_repairs.html seems to
contradict this.

I just did add a bath fan vented to outside to hopefully dec moisture in house


so 1) what do I do
 
  #2  
Old 01-10-06, 09:25 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,047
Upvotes: 0
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Before doing anything, you need to calculate the amount of ventilation needed for your attic. You are correct in stopping any air leaks into the attic, especially in the affected area where you found the mold. No appliances in the living area should be vented into the attic. Proper ventilation is important in winter so that warm, humid air has a way out of the attic and eliminate moisture problems. In summer hot air needs to escape in order to eliminate premature aging of roofing materials and wood in attic and to prevent heat from transferring back into living areas below and increased cooling bills.

http://forum.doityourself.com/showthread.php?t=248662
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-06, 11:32 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ny
Posts: 56
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
attic is abouut 1500 sq feet. how do I calculate the amt needed
 
  #4  
Old 01-10-06, 12:29 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ny
Posts: 56
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Im thinking i may need to increase my soffit intake
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: