More Shed Roof Questions

Old 09-28-06, 04:00 PM
T
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
More Shed Roof Questions

Here I am again with what may be some silly questions. Take it easy on me I'm a newbie to construction practices.

1. I used a 2x8 ridge board on the shed I am building. It overhangs the gable ends by 1 foot. I am using 2 x 6 rafters and 2 x 6 subfascia (probably overkill but then the whole thing is over engineered). Seems to me that I have to make the ridge board narrower (i.e., less than the current 7.25" height) where it overhangs so that the aluminum soffit and fascia will fit properly in a nice triangle at the gable end peak. Is that correct?

2. The drip edge that I bought has a cross section kinda shaped like a letter T. However, the leg that goes down the fascia is straight. Will this cause a problem if I install a gutter on the eaves? Do I have to get this leg into the gutter? BTW I'm thinking of letting the shingles overlap the top of the T as well.

3. I've got nice tight joints where the rafters meet the ridge board. However, the birdmouths do not sit perfectly flat on the top plate. Some have about a 1/8" gap at one end. Is this going to be a problem. Should I put shims in the gaps?

4. I've also installed Simpson H1 connectors where the rafters meet the top plate. But now looking at some diagrams I think I put them in the wrong place. I've got them on the inside of the shed instead of the outside. Is this a problem? I can see it would be a problem if I was going to cover the inside walls (which I do not intend to do). They will also interfere with any cross members I may need to install at the rafters from wall to wall. Don't know why I didn't see this problem in advance.

Thanks

Old 09-28-06, 05:23 PM
Group Moderator
Received 770 Votes on 711 Posts
1). correct.